[DISCLOSURE] Affiliate links present. As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases. Every unit bought at retail. Read policy

Some links on this page are affiliate links; if you buy through them we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Every camera on this site was bought at retail. Full policy

On this page · 11 sections
  1. The specs that decide it
  2. First impressions
  3. Weight
  4. Water
  5. Video
  6. Runtime
  7. Full specifications
  8. Pros and cons
  9. The honest limitation
  10. Verdict
  11. FAQ

The Insta360 GO 3S is a 39.1 g magnetic camera that shoots 4K30, is rated to 10 m without a case, and costs $349.99 with 64 GB or $379.99 with 128 GB at store.insta360.com (Standard bundle, checked 28 September 2026). It is for people who need a camera to vanish onto a cap, a collar or a chest strap, and who have decided the newer, heavier Insta360 GO Ultra is the wrong shape for that job.

That last clause is the whole review. At Insta360's own store the GO Ultra costs $449.99, $100 more than the 64 GB GO 3S and $70 more than the 128 GB one. The GO Ultra has a larger sensor, faster frame rates, a named low-light mode and nearly twice the standalone runtime. The GO 3S has 13.8 g less mass and costs less. Whether to buy it comes down to what that 13.8 g and that $70 to $100 are worth to you.

I spent two weeks with it on a cap peak, under a T-shirt on the magnet pendant, on a bike helmet, in the dive case in a pool, and — because much of the search demand comes from cat owners — on a pet harness. It is still a good camera. It is just no longer the obvious one.

Hero image slot · 4:3
Fig.01 — The camera is the part on the cap. The pod is the screen, grip and second battery, and stays in your pocket.

The specs that decide it

Insta360 GO 3SInsta360 GO UltraGoPro LIT HERODJI Osmo Nano
Weight, camera alone39.1 g52.9 g93 g52 g module (plus a 72 g dock)
Max video4K30 · 1080p2004K60 · 1080p2404K604K60
Sensor1/2.3"1/1.28"1/2.8"1/1.3"
Depth rating, no case10 m rated (pod splash-rated only)10 m rated (pod splash-rated only)5 m10 m (dock splash-rated only)
Runtime, standalone / combined38 / 140 min70 / 200 minnot published90 / 200 min
Price$349.99 (64 GB) · $379.99 (128 GB) store.insta360.com (checked 28 Sep 2026)$449.99 store.insta360.com (checked 28 Sep 2026)$269.99 (checked 1 Sep 2026)$349.00 (64 GB) / $368.00 (128 GB) on promotion at B&H, regular $389 / $409 (checked 28 Sep 2026) · no official US price

Swipe for 2 more columns →

Bold marks the best published figure in each row. The GO 3S takes one; the GO Ultra takes two and ties on depth. The Osmo Nano is not officially sold in the USA, so its price is what B&H charges, not what DJI asks.

First Impressions: A Camera You Lose in a Jacket Pocket

The GO 3S arrives as two objects. The camera is a 39.1 g pill with a lens at one end, a single button and a magnet in its back. The Action Pod is a 96.3 g housing with a 2.2-inch flip screen that the camera clicks into to frame, change a setting or charge.

Those are the lightest camera body and the lightest pod in either of our reference files. The GO Ultra's camera is 52.9 g and its pod 108.5 g, so the GO 3S is 13.8 g lighter on the camera and 12.2 g lighter on the pod. In the hand, 13.8 g is nothing. On a cap peak over an afternoon's walk, it is the difference between forgetting the camera and feeling it every time you turn your head. For a camera whose whole proposition is that you forget it, that is the case for buying one.

The 2.2-inch pod screen is smaller than the GO Ultra's 2.5-inch: fine in shade, a squint in sun. Insta360 publishes no brightness figure for it; DJI publishes 800 nits for the Osmo Nano's. The magnetic mounting works exactly as promised — the pendant goes under a shirt, the camera snaps to it through the fabric, and I stopped checking the hold after the first day.

Weight: 39.1 g, the One Row It Wins Outright

Start with the criterion the GO 3S wins, because it is the only one it wins against everything on this page, including its own replacement, and because it is a published figure rather than an impression.

Camera, body onlyWeight
Insta360 GO 3S39.1 g
DJI Osmo Nano (module)52 g
Insta360 GO Ultra52.9 g
GoPro LIT HERO93 g

The GO 3S is 13.8 g lighter than the GO Ultra and 12.9 g lighter than DJI's Osmo Nano module. The LIT HERO is a different object — a conventional small action camera, not a wearable pill — and at 93 g it is more than twice the mass. The GO 3S wins this row, and nothing else is close.

In-section slot · 16:9
Fig.02 — Same idea, two generations apart. The smaller one is the GO 3S.

What does 13.8 g buy you? On a cap, the GO Ultra tugs the peak down fractionally when you look up; the GO 3S does not. On a pet harness, the lighter camera sits flatter and gets pawed at less. On a bike helmet I could feel no difference at all.

So the advantage is real, verifiable, and narrow: head-worn and body-worn mounting, where the camera sits against skin or fabric. There the GO 3S is genuinely the better object to wear. Bolted to a helmet, a bar or a dashboard, 13.8 g is an abstraction, and the next three sections count against it.

Water: 10 m Rated, and a Disagreement About the Code

The surprising row is water. The GO 3S is rated to 10 m without any case, and to 60 m in Insta360's dive case. That is the same depth rating as the GO Ultra on a camera 13.8 g lighter, and double the 5 m GoPro publishes for the LIT HERO. DJI's Osmo Nano matches the 10 m on the camera module, and its Vision Dock, like the GO 3S's Action Pod, carries only a splash rating, so neither two-piece system goes into the water bare.

In-section slot · 16:9
Fig.03 — In the dive case the rating goes from 10 m to 60 m. The camera alone is rated to 10 m.

I used the GO 3S in a pool over two sessions, bare and then in the dive case, and both times it came out working and dry inside. That is anecdote, not test data. The paperwork matters more, and here there is a problem any honest review has to put in front of you.

Insta360's own material and B&H's listing carry different ingress-protection codes for the GO 3S, and Insta360's product page (checked 28 September 2026) explains why: there are two codes for two objects. The camera is IPX8, rated to 10 m, with the lens guard fitted. The Action Pod is IPX4 — splashproof, only with the camera installed, and not for submersion. B&H's IPX4 matches the pod's rating, not the camera's, and the same split applies to the GO Ultra. So there is no single code for "the GO 3S", and a listing that prints one is describing half the kit. The camera can go under bare; the pod, with the screen, cannot.

The dive case takes the camera and the Action Pod together to 60 m, and it is the only way to have the screen with you underwater. For snorkelling, surfing or open-water swimming, budget for it. Without it, the bare camera goes in and you frame blind.

Video: 4K30, and Where the GO Ultra Wins

This is the section where the GO 3S loses, and I am not going to soften it.

Insta360 GO 3SInsta360 GO Ultra
Sensor1/2.3"1/1.28"
Aperturef/2.8f/2.85
Max video4K304K60
Max slow-motion1080p2001080p240
Stills4000×3000 (no MP figure published)50MP
Named low-light modenone publishedPureVideo
StabilisationFlowState Stabilization · Horizon LockFlowState Stabilization · 360 Horizon Lock

The GO Ultra wins this criterion on every published line. Its 1/1.28" sensor is a class larger than the GO 3S's 1/2.3", and sensor area governs how much light gets in before a camera has to start guessing. It shoots 4K60 to the GO 3S's 4K30, 1080p240 to its 1080p200, and publishes a 50MP still where Insta360 gives the GO 3S's stills as 4000×3000 pixels, with no megapixel figure. It also has PureVideo, Insta360's named low-light mode; no equivalent is published for the GO 3S, and in testing its footage after dusk went soft and noisy in exactly the way a small sensor at f/2.8 does. Do not read GO Ultra marketing and assume the GO 3S inherits it.

Outside the brand the picture is the same. GoPro's LIT HERO shoots 4K60 on a 1/2.8" sensor at $269.99 (checked 1 September 2026): a smaller sensor, but a faster frame rate at a lower price in a body more than twice the weight. DJI's Osmo Nano shoots 4K60 on a 1/1.3" sensor. The GO 3S is the only camera here capped at 4K30.

In daylight, none of that is a disaster. 4K30 on a bright afternoon is clean, and the stabilisation is where the footage earns its keep: FlowState Stabilization and Horizon Lock hold a walking shot level while the cap bobs, and the horizon stays put through a head turn. For a camera you never look through, that is the most important image-quality feature, and it is good. Where 4K30 bites is anything you want to slow down; at thirty frames a second there is no headroom for a smooth half-speed cut.

One more absence. The Insta360 Mic Air's published direct-pairing list covers the X6, Luna Ultra, X4 Air, GO Ultra, X5, X4 and Ace Pro 2. The GO 3S is not on it. That is a documented absence from a list, not a documented incompatibility; I have not tested the pairing, so I report exactly what Insta360 publishes and no more.

Runtime: 38 Minutes Is the Number to Plan Around

Runtime, standalone / combined
Insta360 GO 3S38 / 140 min
Insta360 GO Ultra70 / 200 min
DJI Osmo Nano90 / 200 min
GoPro LIT HEROnot published (1255 mAh cell)

The GO 3S carries 310 + 1270 mAh across camera and pod, rated at 38 minutes standalone and 140 minutes combined. The GO Ultra's 500 + 1450 mAh give 70 and 200 minutes: 32 minutes more standalone, 60 minutes more combined. DJI publishes 90 minutes for the Osmo Nano module and 200 with its dock. GoPro publishes a 1255 mAh cell for the LIT HERO and no rated runtime at all.

The 38-minute figure decides whether this camera suits a given shoot. It is the shortest standalone runtime here, and standalone is the mode the GO 3S is bought for. Thirty-eight minutes covers a commute, a school run or a short trail. It does not cover a hike or a surf session, and in practice — with the camera waking, previewing and idling between clips — I was reaching for the pod well before the rated figure. The pod changes the arithmetic rather than the problem: clicked in, the combined 140 minutes is a workable afternoon, but a camera in its pod is no longer a 39.1 g object you forget about.

The GO Ultra's extra 32 minutes standalone is the difference between covering most of what people wear these cameras for and covering only the short things. If your typical clip is under half an hour, the GO 3S is fine and the pod is a charger. If it is longer, this section should send you to the GO Ultra review. Insta360 publishes no fast-charge time for the GO 3S, and a $349.99 camera should have one.

Full Specifications

Insta360 GO 3SInsta360 GO Ultra
Price$349.99 (64 GB) · $379.99 (128 GB) store.insta360.com (checked 28 Sep 2026)$449.99 store.insta360.com (checked 28 Sep 2026)
Sensor1/2.3"1/1.28"
Aperturef/2.8f/2.85
Focal length (full-frame equivalent)16 mm14.27 mm
Max video4K304K60
Max slow-motion1080p2001080p240
Photo resolution4000×3000 (no MP figure published)50MP
Dynamic rangenot publishednot published
Low-light modenone publishedPureVideo
StabilisationFlowState Stabilization · Horizon LockFlowState Stabilization · 360 Horizon Lock
Zoomnot publishednot published
Weight, camera39.1 g52.9 g
Weight, Action Pod96.3 g108.5 g
Depth rating, camera alone10 m rated10 m rated
Depth rating, in dive case60 m60 m
Ingress-protection codeIPX8 camera (lens guard fitted) · IPX4 Action PodIPX8 camera · IPX4 Action Pod
Battery, camera + pod310 + 1270 mAh500 + 1450 mAh
Runtime, standalone / combined38 / 140 min70 / 200 min
Fast-charge timenot publishednot published
Screen (on pod)2.2-inch flip2.5-inch flip
Peak brightnessnot publishednot published
Storagebuilt-in 64 GB or 128 GBmicroSD to 2 TB
Operating temperature−20 °C to 40 °C (camera and pod)−20 °C to 40 °C
Launch datenot stated in the specification tables we verify againstnot stated in the specification tables we verify against
Insta360 Mic Air direct pairingabsent from Insta360's published liston Insta360's published list

Five rows on the GO 3S's side carry no published figure, and the GO Ultra's column has the same five gaps; that belongs in the table, not a footnote. The focal-length, photo-resolution, storage, ingress-protection and operating-temperature rows were re-checked against Insta360's product pages on 28 September 2026. We criticise GoPro for publishing no runtime for the LIT HERO; the same standard has to apply to the brand we cover most closely, or it is not a standard.

Pros and cons

+ Pros

  • 39.1 g camera, the lightest body in either reference file, 13.8 g under the GO Ultra
  • 96.3 g Action Pod, the lightest pod on record here
  • 10 m rated bare, matching the GO Ultra and double the LIT HERO's 5 m; 60 m in the dive case
  • FlowState Stabilization and Horizon Lock keep head-worn footage level
  • Mature, reliable magnetic mounting
  • $100 less than the GO Ultra at store.insta360.com (64 GB, checked 28 September 2026)

− Cons

  • 4K30 ceiling; every other camera here shoots 4K60
  • 1/2.3" sensor, a class smaller than the GO Ultra's 1/1.28"
  • No named low-light mode published, and dusk footage shows it
  • 38 minutes standalone, the shortest on the page
  • Five specification rows the manufacturer does not publish
  • Action Pod rated IPX4 splashproof only, so the screen stays out of the water
  • Small 2.2-inch pod screen, brightness unpublished
  • Absent from the Insta360 Mic Air's published direct-pairing list
  • The 128 GB version, at $379.99, narrows the gap to the GO Ultra to $70

The Honest Limitation: A $100 Decision About 13.8 g

This is the honest limitation, and it is a price question as much as a specification one. At store.insta360.com the GO 3S costs $349.99 with 64 GB or $379.99 with 128 GB, and the GO Ultra costs $449.99 (all checked 28 September 2026). The GO 3S is cheaper, by $100 or $70. The question is whether that saving, and 13.8 g, are worth everything the GO Ultra adds. For most buyers they are not. That is the single most useful sentence on this page.

Where the GO Ultra wins, it wins by published margins: 4K60 against 4K30, 1080p240 against 1080p200, a 1/1.28" sensor against 1/2.3", 50MP stills against the GO 3S's 4000×3000, PureVideo against no named low-light mode, and 70 / 200 minutes against 38 / 140. Every one of those is the manufacturer's own number, and every one goes the GO Ultra's way, in exchange for 13.8 g.

The GO 3S makes the strongest commercial sense at $349.99 for 64 GB, a $100 gap, and only if 13.8 g and that $100 are worth more to you than everything in the paragraph above. For a camera worn on a cap or a collar, they can be. For anything else, they are not.

Outside the brand, GoPro's LIT HERO at $269.99 (checked 1 September 2026) is $80 under the 64 GB GO 3S and $110 under the 128 GB one, and it shoots 4K60 — at 93 g, rated to 5 m rather than 10 m, with no published runtime. If magnetic mounting was never the point, it is the cheaper route to small 4K60, and the GO 3S cannot answer it on frame rate.

Signed verdictWilliam Madden · 2026-09-28

Verdict

Buy the Insta360 GO 3S if the camera is going on your head, your body or an animal, and the saving matters to you: $349.99 for 64 GB or $379.99 for 128 GB at store.insta360.com (checked 28 September 2026), against $449.99 for the GO Ultra. At 39.1 g it is the lightest camera in either of our reference files, it is rated to 10 m bare and 60 m in the dive case, and the stabilisation makes head-worn footage watchable. That is enough for a specific buyer — the cap-peak vlogger, the cyclist on a helmet strap, the cat owner — for whom 13.8 g is the specification that matters and 4K30 is a ceiling they will not hit.

Do not buy the GO 3S only to save money if you will then miss 4K60. For $70 more than the 128 GB GO 3S, or $100 more than the 64 GB, the GO Ultra is the better camera on every published imaging figure and by 32 minutes of standalone runtime. Our Insta360 GO Ultra review is the page most readers of this one should end up on, and I say that as someone who enjoyed wearing the GO 3S more.

Do not buy either GO if your typical clip runs past half an hour standalone, if you will shoot outside the −20 °C to 40 °C operating range Insta360 publishes for both (checked 28 September 2026), or if you need the screen with you in the water without a dive case: the Action Pod is rated IPX4 splashproof, not for submersion.

If you never intended to wear the camera, the LIT HERO's 4K60 for $80 less is the answer. Where the GO line sits in the rest of the range is in our full product lineup.

Ready to decide?

Insta360 prices checked 28 September 2026 at store.insta360.com (Standard bundle). They will move; the GO Ultra was $100 above the 64 GB GO 3S on the check date.

Insta360 GO 3S — check price on Amazon →Insta360 GO 3S — check price on Amazon →Insta360 GO Ultra — check price on Amazon →

Frequently asked questions

Insta360 GO 3S vs GO Ultra — which should I buy?

The GO Ultra, unless weight or price decides it. It has a 1/1.28" sensor against the GO 3S's 1/2.3", shoots 4K60 against 4K30, has PureVideo where the GO 3S has no published low-light mode, and runs 70 minutes standalone against 38. At store.insta360.com the GO Ultra is $449.99 against $349.99 (64 GB) or $379.99 (128 GB) for the GO 3S (checked 28 September 2026), so the GO Ultra costs $70 to $100 more, and for most buyers it is worth it. The GO 3S wins on mass and price: 39.1 g against 52.9 g, a 13.8 g difference you feel on a cap or a collar and nowhere else. Buy it if it is going on your head or a pet and the saving matters.

How long does the Insta360 GO 3S battery last?

Insta360 rates it at 38 minutes standalone from the 310 mAh camera battery and 140 minutes combined with the Action Pod's 1270 mAh cell. That is the shortest standalone figure in this review — the GO Ultra is rated at 70 minutes and 200 combined, the Osmo Nano at 90 and 200. Plan around 38 minutes as a ceiling, not an average. Insta360 does not publish a fast-charge time.

Do I need the Insta360 GO 3S dive case?

If you are going into water on purpose, yes. The GO 3S camera is rated to 10 m bare (IPX8, with the lens guard fitted) and 60 m in the dive case, but the Action Pod is rated IPX4 — splashproof only, and not for submersion (checked 28 September 2026). A retailer listing that gives a single splash-only code for "the GO 3S" matches the pod's rating, not the camera's. The dive case takes the camera and the pod together to 60 m, so it is the only way to take the screen under. For rain and the odd splash, the bare camera is fine; for snorkelling, surfing or swimming, buy the case.

Is the Insta360 GO 3S a good cat camera?

It is the best-suited camera on this page for it, and weight is the reason. At 39.1 g it is 13.8 g lighter than the GO Ultra and 12.9 g lighter than DJI's Osmo Nano module, and on a harness the lighter body sits flatter and gets pawed at less. The trade-offs are the usual ones: 38 minutes standalone, 4K30 rather than 4K60, and no published low-light mode, which matters if the footage you want is of a cat at night.

How much storage does the Insta360 GO 3S have — 64 GB or 128 GB?

Either. Insta360 sells the GO 3S with 64 GB or 128 GB of built-in storage (checked 28 September 2026), as two separate versions. Check which capacity the exact listing you buy from carries.