[DISCLOSURE] Affiliate links present. As an Amazon Associate we may earn from qualifying purchases. Every unit bought at retail. Read policy

Some links on this page are affiliate links; if you buy through them we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Every camera on this site was bought at retail. Full policy

On this page · 10 sections
  1. The picks, side by side
  2. What makes a small camera worth recommending
  3. 1. Insta360 GO 3S
  4. 2. DJI Osmo Nano
  5. 3. Insta360 GO Ultra
  6. 4. Insta360 X4 Air
  7. Where DJI wins
  8. Buying guidance and what to skip
  9. Verdict
  10. FAQ

The small camera we recommend is the Insta360 GO 3S, a 39.1 g camera (its 96.3 g Action Pod carries the screen and second battery) that is the lightest camera on this page and still rated to 10 m, at $349.99 (64GB) or $379.99 (128GB) at Insta360's US store, checked 28 September 2026. The step up is the Insta360 GO Ultra, whose 52.9 g camera is 13.8 g heavier and costs $449.99 (checked 28 September 2026) for 4K60, a 1/1.28" sensor, PureVideo and 32 more minutes on the camera alone; DJI's 52 g Osmo Nano module sits between them on weight and is not officially sold in the USA.

This page ranks on one number: the published weight of the part that records. Every card then says what that weight costs in sensor size, frame rate, runtime and water rating. This site covers action, pocket and 360 cameras, not compact stills cameras, so none is ranked here and no compact-camera figure is quoted.

Three of the four picks are two-piece wearables: the camera goes on a cap or a shirt, and the pod or dock that holds the screen goes in a pocket. We give both weights and never add them together. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the tables say not published, and that includes blanks on both GO picks.

Hero image slot · 4:3
Fig.01 — Two objects, two weights. The 39.1 g camera is on the cap; the 96.3 g Action Pod is in the pocket.

At a glance

The deciding column is the first: the published weight of the part that records. The DJI Osmo Pocket 3 and Insta360 Luna Ultra rows are for reference and are not ranked.

Recording unitSecond piece (weighed separately)SensorMax videoRuntime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)Depth, no housingPrice (dated)Sold officially in the USA
1 · Insta360 GO 3S39.1 g camera96.3 g Action Pod1/2.3"4K30 · 1080p20038 min (140 min with pod), 1080p3010 m rated (camera)$349.99 (64GB) / $379.99 (128GB), Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026yes
2 · DJI Osmo Nano52 g module72 g Vision Dock1/1.3"4K60 · 4K120 slow motion90 min (200 min with dock), 1080p2410 m (module) · module + dock IPX4 only$349.00 (64 GB) / $368.00 (128 GB) B&H on promotion (regular $389 / $409), 28 Sep 2026 · no official USD priceno
3 · Insta360 GO Ultra52.9 g camera (±0.5 g)108.5 g Action Pod (±0.5 g)1/1.28"4K60 · 1080p24070 min (200 min with pod), 1080p24 Endurance Mode10 m rated (camera)$449.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026yes
4 · Insta360 X4 Air165 g, one piecenone — screen on the body2 × 1/1.8"8K30 (360) · 4K60 single-lens88 min @8K3015 m$399.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026yes
DJI Osmo Pocket 3 (reference, not ranked)179 g, one piecenone1"4K60 · 4K120 slow motion166 min, 1080p24not rated$439.00 B&H, 28 Sep 2026yes
Insta360 Luna Ultra (reference, not ranked)233 g, one piecenone1" main + 1/1.3" tele"8K" — marketing claim240 min, mode not statednone — no waterproofing at all$769.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026yes

Swipe for 4 more columns →

1 · Insta360 GO 3S
Recording unit
39.1 g camera
Second piece (weighed separately)
96.3 g Action Pod
Sensor
1/2.3"
Max video
4K30 · 1080p200
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
38 min (140 min with pod), 1080p30
Depth, no housing
10 m rated (camera)
Price (dated)
$349.99 (64GB) / $379.99 (128GB), Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026
Sold officially in the USA
yes
2 · DJI Osmo Nano
Recording unit
52 g module
Second piece (weighed separately)
72 g Vision Dock
Sensor
1/1.3"
Max video
4K60 · 4K120 slow motion
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
90 min (200 min with dock), 1080p24
Depth, no housing
10 m (module) · module + dock IPX4 only
Price (dated)
$349.00 (64 GB) / $368.00 (128 GB) B&H on promotion (regular $389 / $409), 28 Sep 2026 · no official USD price
Sold officially in the USA
no
3 · Insta360 GO Ultra
Recording unit
52.9 g camera (±0.5 g)
Second piece (weighed separately)
108.5 g Action Pod (±0.5 g)
Sensor
1/1.28"
Max video
4K60 · 1080p240
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
70 min (200 min with pod), 1080p24 Endurance Mode
Depth, no housing
10 m rated (camera)
Price (dated)
$449.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026
Sold officially in the USA
yes
4 · Insta360 X4 Air
Recording unit
165 g, one piece
Second piece (weighed separately)
none — screen on the body
Sensor
2 × 1/1.8"
Max video
8K30 (360) · 4K60 single-lens
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
88 min @8K30
Depth, no housing
15 m
Price (dated)
$399.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026
Sold officially in the USA
yes
DJI Osmo Pocket 3 (reference, not ranked)
Recording unit
179 g, one piece
Second piece (weighed separately)
none
Sensor
1"
Max video
4K60 · 4K120 slow motion
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
166 min, 1080p24
Depth, no housing
not rated
Price (dated)
$439.00 B&H, 28 Sep 2026
Sold officially in the USA
yes
Insta360 Luna Ultra (reference, not ranked)
Recording unit
233 g, one piece
Second piece (weighed separately)
none
Sensor
1" main + 1/1.3" tele
Max video
"8K" — marketing claim
Runtime, unit alone (maker's stated mode)
240 min, mode not stated
Depth, no housing
none — no waterproofing at all
Price (dated)
$769.99, Insta360 US store, 28 Sep 2026
Sold officially in the USA
yes

Runtime modes differ by maker: 1080p30 for the GO 3S, 1080p24 for the GO Ultra, Osmo Nano and Pocket 3, 8K30 for the X4 Air, and not stated for the Luna Ultra. The GO depth figures belong to the camera, which is IPX8; both Action Pods are IPX4 splashproof only. The X4 Air's Labor Day promotion has ended; the Osmo Nano's B&H price is a promotion.

What makes a small camera worth recommending

Stated before any pick, so you can check the ranking against it.

The floor. "Records properly" means at least 4K video and a published weight. Every camera on this page clears it, and a camera that publishes no weight cannot be ranked on a page ranked by weight.

Above the floor, six criteria, in this order:

1 · Published weight of the part that records — the camera module for a two-piece design, the whole body for a one-piece. This criterion alone sets the rank order, lightest first.

2 · Sensor size, the first thing a small camera gives up. Here it runs from the GO 3S's 1/2.3" to the GO Ultra's 1/1.28".

3 · Maximum video mode. 8K on a 360 camera is spread over the whole sphere, so it is not the same purchase as 4K on a flat camera.

4 · Runtime on the recording unit alone, because the pod or dock is exactly the piece you left in your pocket.

5 · Depth rating without a housing, quoted for the part that carries it, never for the kit.

6 · Price, dated, with the list-to-list gap wherever a promotion meets a list price.

highlight Criteria 2 to 6 do not reorder the list; they are what each pick gives up, and they decide the verdict.

Three auditing rules follow. The second piece is published beside the first and never summed, because no maker publishes a combined carried weight. A specification nobody publishes cannot be scored: Insta360 publishes no dynamic range and no screen brightness for either GO camera, and DJI's 13.5 stops for the Osmo Nano exists only in a press release, not in its spec table.

Screen brightnessDynamic rangeOperating temperature
Insta360 GO 3Snot publishednot published−20 °C to 40 °C
DJI Osmo Nano800 nits (screen on the dock)13.5 stops — press release only−20 °C to 45 °C
Insta360 GO Ultranot publishednot published−20 °C to 40 °C
Insta360 X4 Airnot publishednot published−20 °C to 40 °C

Swipe for 1 more column →

Insta360 is not clean here: the one screen-brightness figure among the four picks is DJI's.

A weight tolerance is part of the figure. Insta360 gives the GO Ultra's camera as 52.9 ± 0.5 g, so against the Nano's 52 g the gap is 0.9 g nominally and 0.4 g to 1.4 g across the tolerance. It never reverses. Why we score only what is published is on our how we test page.

In-section slot · 16:9
Fig.02 — THE GO 3S CAMERA OSMO NANO MODULE AND GO ULTRA CAMERA SIDE BY SIDE AT THE SAME SCALE THE 96.3 G POD 72 G DOCK AND 108.5 G POD SET BEHIND THEM.

01Insta360 GO 3S

01 Rank Lightest camera on this page
Product shot · 1:1

Insta360 GO 3S

Weight
39.1 g camera · 96.3 g Action Pod
Max video
4K30 · 1080p200
Depth, no housing
10 m rated (camera)

The verdict in one line: a 39.1 g camera rated to 10 m, the lightest camera on this page, and the grams are paid for in sensor size and runtime.

The GO 3S wins the criterion this page ranks on. Its camera is 12.9 g under the Osmo Nano module and 13.8 g under the GO Ultra camera, and its pod is 12.2 g lighter than the GO Ultra's. The camera is rated to 10 m (IPX8, lens guard fitted) and 60 m in the dive case, with FlowState Stabilization and Horizon Lock. It ships with 64GB or 128GB built in, and Insta360 publishes −20 °C to 40 °C. The 2.2" flip touchscreen is on the pod. At list, with no promotion on either, it is $100 under the GO Ultra at 64GB and $70 under at 128GB (28 September 2026).

What the grams cost: its 1/2.3" sensor is the smallest on this page, a figure published not on the GO 3S's own spec table but in the comparison table on Insta360's GO Ultra page. Video tops out at 4K30, the only pick without 4K60. It runs 38 minutes on the camera alone, the shortest here, or 140 with the pod (1080p30). That comparison table marks PureVideo "–" for it. Stills are given as 4000×3000 pixels, with no MP figure. The pod is IPX4 splashproof only with the camera installed, and the GO 3S is not on the Insta360 Mic Air's direct-pairing list.

The top pick in full, including the 38-minute limit, in our Insta360 GO 3S review.

$349.99 Checked 2026-09-28 (64GB) / $379.99 (128GB) · Insta360 US store · no promotion running

+ Pros

  • 39.1 g camera, 96.3 g pod: the lightest pair here
  • Camera rated to 10 m, 60 m in the dive case
  • 64GB or 128GB built in; the GO Ultra has none
  • −20 °C to 40 °C published
  • $70–$100 under the GO Ultra, list to list

− Cons

  • 1/2.3" sensor and a 4K30 ceiling
  • 38 min on the camera alone, the shortest here
  • No PureVideo; brightness and dynamic range not published
  • Pod is IPX4 splashproof only

02DJI Osmo Nano

02 Rank The strongest specification after weight
Product shot · 1:1

DJI Osmo Nano

Weight
52 g module · 72 g Vision Dock
Sensor · video
1/1.3" · 4K60
Runtime
90 min module · 200 min with dock

The verdict in one line: a 52 g module that out-specs the GO 3S on everything except weight — and a camera DJI does not officially sell in the USA.

The Osmo Nano is a two-piece wearable, not a 360 camera and not a gimbal. Its 72 g Vision Dock, which carries the screen and a second battery, is the lightest second piece on this page. The module is 0.9 g lighter than the GO Ultra's camera, at least 0.4 g across Insta360's ±0.5 g tolerance, which is why it ranks second.

After weight it is the strongest of the three wearables: a 1/1.3" sensor behind an f/2.8 lens with a 143° field of view, 4K60 with 4K120 slow motion, and stills of approximately 35MP (6880×5160). It runs 90 minutes on the module, or 200 with the dock (1080p24). The dock's 1.96" screen is rated at 800 nits, and DJI publishes −20 °C to 45 °C. The module is rated to 10 m.

Then the purchasing facts. DJI does not officially sell the Osmo Nano in the USA: its US store returns "Not available in your country/region", and DJI publishes no USD price, so the price here is B&H's. Module plus dock is IPX4 only, and the 13.5 stops is press release only. On B&H's promotion it is $100.99 under the GO Ultra at 64 GB and $81.99 under at 128 GB, and against the GO 3S at the same capacity it is $0.99 less (64 GB) and $11.99 less (128 GB) (all 28 September 2026). Those are promotional prices: at B&H's regular $389 / $409 the Nano would be $60.99 / $40.99 under the GO Ultra and $39.01 / $29.01 over the GO 3S. No list-to-list gap can be stated, because DJI publishes no USD list.

$349.00 Checked 2026-09-28 (64 GB) / $368.00 (128 GB) at B&H, on promotion (regular $389 / $409) · DJI publishes no USD price

+ Pros

  • 72 g Vision Dock: 24.3 g under the GO 3S pod, 36.5 g under the GO Ultra pod
  • 52 g module, 0.9 g under the GO Ultra camera
  • 1/1.3" sensor, 4K60, and 4K120 slow motion against the GO Ultra's 1080p240
  • 90 min on the module: 52 min more than the GO 3S, 20 min more than the GO Ultra
  • 800-nit screen, the only published brightness among the picks
  • −20 °C to 45 °C, 5 °C more heat headroom than either GO camera

− Cons

  • Not officially sold in the USA; no official USD price
  • Module plus dock is IPX4 only
  • 13.5 stops is a press-release figure
  • 12.9 g heavier than the GO 3S camera

03Insta360 GO Ultra

03 Rank The step up
Product shot · 1:1

Insta360 GO Ultra

Weight
52.9 g camera (±0.5 g) · 108.5 g Action Pod (±0.5 g)
Sensor · video
1/1.28" · 4K60
Runtime
70 min camera · 200 min with pod

The verdict in one line: 13.8 g more than the GO 3S buys a 1/1.28" sensor, 4K60, PureVideo and 32 more minutes on the camera — for $70–$100 more.

The GO Ultra's 1/1.28" sensor is fractionally larger than the Nano's 1/1.3" and far larger than the GO 3S's 1/2.3", the largest among the three wearables. It records 4K60 and 1080p240, with Active HDR up to 4K30, and 50MP stills (8192×6144) through an F2.85 lens with a 156° maximum field of view. PureVideo is the only low-light mode recorded for any pick on this page.

It runs 70 minutes on the camera alone, 32 more than the GO 3S, and 200 with the pod (1080p24, Endurance Mode on), 60 more than the GO 3S combined. The camera is rated to 10 m (IPX8) and 60 m in the dive case, the 2.5" flip touchscreen is on the pod, and it takes microSD up to 2 TB. Insta360 publishes −20 °C to 40 °C, and it pairs directly with the Mic Air.

The costs: it is 0.9 g heavier than the Osmo Nano module (±0.5 g) and runs 20 minutes less on the camera alone. Its 108.5 g Action Pod is the heaviest second piece on this page, IPX4 splashproof only. With no built-in storage, a microSD card is an extra purchase. And it is $70 more than the 128GB GO 3S and $100 more than the 64GB, list to list, 28 September 2026.

The 52.9 g camera and the Nano's 0.9 g, reviewed on their own terms, in our Insta360 GO Ultra review.

$449.99 Checked 2026-09-28 Insta360 US store · no promotion running

+ Pros

  • 1/1.28" sensor, the largest among the wearables
  • 4K60, 1080p240, 50MP stills
  • PureVideo, the only low-light mode recorded here
  • 70 min on the camera, 200 min with the pod
  • microSD up to 2 TB

− Cons

  • 0.9 g heavier than the Osmo Nano module, 20 min shorter alone
  • 108.5 g Action Pod, the heaviest second piece here
  • No built-in storage
  • Brightness and dynamic range not published

04Insta360 X4 Air

04 Rank The one-piece 360 pick
Product shot · 1:1

Insta360 X4 Air

Weight
165 g, one piece
Max video
8K30 (360) · 4K60 single-lens
Depth, no housing
15 m · 60 m in a dive case

The verdict in one line: the lightest 360 camera on this page at 165 g, one piece with its own screen and rated to 15 m bare — and 112.1 g heavier than the GO Ultra's camera, which is why it is fourth.

The X4 Air leaves nothing in a pocket: one piece, screen on the body, recording every direction through 2 × 1/1.8" sensors behind F1.95 lenses. It is rated to 15 m bare, the deepest bare rating on this page, and 60 m in a dive case. The lenses are user-replaceable, stabilisation is FlowState Stabilization with 360 Horizon Lock, and Insta360 publishes −20 °C to 40 °C, 20 °C more cold headroom than the Pocket 3's 0 °C floor.

The Labor Day promotion has ended. At $399.99 (Insta360 US store, checked 28 September 2026; $399.00 at B&H), with no promotion running on any of the three, the X4 Air is $50 under the GO Ultra and $50 over the 64GB GO 3S ($20 over the 128GB).

The costs: 165 g, the reason it ranks last here. Its 29MP 360 stills are far below the Insta360 X4's 72MP, the one place the word "Air" catches buyers out, and single-lens stills are 14MP. Its 8K30 covers the whole sphere, so a flat clip reframed from it is not an 8K clip; no maker publishes a reframed-output resolution, and we will not calculate one.

The 165 g 360 pick, and the 29MP stills catch, in our Insta360 X4 Air review.

$399.99 Checked 2026-09-28 Insta360 US store · no promotion running

+ Pros

  • One piece, 165 g, with its own screen
  • 15 m bare, the deepest bare rating here
  • 8K30 in 360, 4K60 single-lens
  • User-replaceable lenses

− Cons

  • 165 g, 112.1 g over the GO Ultra's camera
  • 29MP 360 stills against the X4's 72MP
  • Brightness and dynamic range not published
  • $50 more than the 64GB GO 3S

Where DJI wins

Two DJI cameras beat Insta360 picks on published figures. The first beats our top pick on three of the five criteria after weight, and on the weight of its second piece too.

DJI's Osmo Nano beats the Insta360 GO 3S on sensor size, 1/1.3" against 1/2.3"; on frame rate, 4K60 against 4K30; on standalone runtime, 90 minutes against 38, or 52 minutes more; and on second-piece weight, a 72 g dock against a 96.3 g pod, 24.3 g lighter. It also publishes an 800-nit screen where Insta360 publishes no brightness for either GO camera, and a 45 °C ceiling against their 40 °C.

DJI Osmo NanoInsta360 GO 3SInsta360 GO Ultra
Recording unit52 g module39.1 g camera52.9 g camera (±0.5 g)
Second piece72 g Vision Dock96.3 g Action Pod108.5 g Action Pod
Sensor1/1.3"1/2.3"1/1.28"
Max video4K60 · 4K120 slow motion4K30 · 1080p2004K60 · 1080p240
Runtime, unit alone90 min38 min70 min
Published screen brightness800 nitsnot publishednot published
Operating temperature−20 °C to 45 °C−20 °C to 40 °C−20 °C to 40 °C

Swipe for 1 more column →

It also beats the GO Ultra on the ranking criterion itself: 52 g against 52.9 g, 0.9 g lighter, and still at least 0.4 g lighter across Insta360's ±0.5 g tolerance. Its dock is 36.5 g lighter, it runs 20 minutes longer on the module, and its slow motion reaches 4K120 against 1080p240. That is why it ranks above the GO Ultra.

Stated separately, afterwards: DJI does not officially sell the Osmo Nano in the USA, publishes no USD price for it, and rates module plus dock IPX4 only.

The DJI Osmo Pocket 3 needs no such caveat, because DJI lists it on its US store. It misses this list by 14 g, 179 g against the X4 Air's 165 g, and beats the X4 Air on three rows: sensor, 1" against 1/1.8"; slow motion, 4K120 where the X4 Air's single-lens ceiling is 4K60; and runtime, 166 minutes against 88, 78 minutes more, though in different modes (1080p24 against 8K30). It adds a 3-axis mechanical gimbal and a published 700-nit screen. The trades: no water rating at all, and a published operating range of 0 °C to 40 °C.

In-section slot · 16:9
Fig.07 — THE INSTA360 X4 AIR BESIDE THE DJI OSMO POCKET 3 SAME SCALE THE 14 G THAT SEPARATES THE #4 PICK FROM THE REFERENCE ROW.

Insta360 takes the top slot on weight alone. It also holds the largest sensor among the wearables and the only recorded low-light mode (GO Ultra), built-in storage (GO 3S) and the deepest bare rating on this page (X4 Air) — not sensor size at #1, not standalone runtime, and not the lightest dock.

Buying guidance and what to skip

If you want a gimbal, buy the Pocket 3. The DJI Osmo Pocket 3 is 179 g, with a 1" sensor behind an f/2.0 lens, 4K60 video and 4K120 slow motion, for $439.00 at B&H (checked 28 September 2026). DJI's US store lists it at $439 but it is out of stock there, and B&H has it in stock; the Pocket 4 and 4P are not officially sold in the USA, so the Pocket 3 is the one to name. It is not rated for water, and DJI publishes 0 °C to 40 °C. The full case is in our DJI Osmo Pocket 3 review.

Skip the Insta360 Luna Ultra on this page. At 233 g it is the heaviest camera discussed here, 68 g over the X4 Air and 54 g over the Pocket 3. It has no waterproofing at all, and its "8K" is a marketing figure with no supporting specification. What it genuinely adds is a 60 mm telephoto beside a 20 mm main lens, 1×–12× zoom, 240 minutes, a 1000-nit OLED and 47 GB internal, for $769.99 at Insta360's US store (checked 28 September 2026), $330.99 more than the Pocket 3. Our Pocket 3 vs Luna Ultra comparison argues that trade in full.

Do not buy a two-piece camera on the box weight. The 39.1 g, 52 g and 52.9 g figures are cameras with no screen of their own. The screen lives on a 96.3 g, 72 g or 108.5 g second piece, every one of them IPX4 splashproof at best, so the 10 m figure belongs to the camera.

Storage is part of the price. The GO 3S ships with 64GB or 128GB built in; the GO Ultra has none and needs a microSD card, up to 2 TB.

Price honesty. Every price here was checked on 28 September 2026. The GO 3S, GO Ultra and X4 Air prices are Insta360's US store with no promotion running; the X4 Air's Labor Day promotion has ended. The Osmo Nano's $349.00 / $368.00 is a B&H promotion, so re-check before you buy. Where a promotional price is compared, the gap at the regular price is given too; for the Osmo Nano no list-to-list gap can be given, because DJI publishes no USD list.

Packing for a trip? Our best action camera for travel ranks what goes in the bag rather than the smallest thing that records, and orders these cameras differently for that reason.

Compact stills cameras are outside what this site covers, so none is named or measured here.

Signed verdictWilliam Madden · 2026-09-28

Which one to actually buy

Buy the Insta360 GO 3S ($349.99 at 64GB or $379.99 at 128GB, checked 28 September 2026) if the grams are the whole decision and your clips run under 38 minutes.

Buy the Insta360 GO Ultra ($449.99, checked 28 September 2026) if you can carry 13.8 g and $70–$100 more for 4K60, PureVideo and 70 minutes on the camera.

Buy the DJI Osmo Nano ($349.00 / $368.00 on promotion at B&H, regular $389 / $409, checked 28 September 2026) only if you can buy and service a camera outside DJI's official US channels.

Buy the Insta360 X4 Air ($399.99, checked 28 September 2026) if you want every direction at once in one 165 g piece rated to 15 m.

Buy the DJI Osmo Pocket 3 ($439.00 at B&H, checked 28 September 2026) if you want a gimbal and a 1" sensor and will never take it near water.

Ready to decide?

Both prices checked at Insta360's US store on 28 September 2026, with no promotion running on either. Prices will move.

Insta360 GO 3S — check price on Amazon →Insta360 GO Ultra — check price on Amazon →

Frequently asked questions

What small cameras do you recommend?

We recommend the Insta360 GO 3S, a 39.1 g camera rated to 10 m, and the GO Ultra at 52.9 g if you want 4K60. DJI's Osmo Nano, a 52 g module, sits between them but is not officially sold in the USA, and the Insta360 X4 Air, at 165 g, is the lightest 360 camera here. The GO 3S is $349.99 (64GB) and the GO Ultra $449.99 at Insta360's US store, both checked 28 September 2026.

Is there an Insta360 mini camera?

Insta360 sells no camera called "mini"; its smallest cameras are the GO line, the GO 3S at 39.1 g and the GO Ultra at 52.9 g, both camera-only figures. Each pairs with an Action Pod, 96.3 g and 108.5 g respectively, that carries the screen.

Which Insta360 GO camera should I buy?

Buy the GO 3S if weight comes first: its camera is 13.8 g lighter and $70–$100 cheaper (list prices, checked 28 September 2026). Buy the GO Ultra for 4K60, a 1/1.28" sensor, PureVideo and 32 more minutes on the camera, and see our GO 3S review and GO Ultra review for the detail.

Does Insta360 make a pocket camera?

Yes: the Insta360 Luna Ultra is Insta360's pocket gimbal camera, 233 g with a 1" main sensor and a 60 mm telephoto, but it has no waterproofing at all. For the smallest Insta360 camera, look at the GO 3S, a 39.1 g camera rated to 10 m.

What is the best camera to mount on a hat?

The lightest one, because the weight sits on your head: on this page, the Insta360 GO 3S, at 39.1 g for the camera alone. No manufacturer publishes a hat-mount load figure or a mount weight, so the answer is the camera weight and nothing more; the 96.3 g Action Pod stays in your pocket.